Honolulu, Hawaii

See You again: Honolulu

I cannot believe that it have already been a month since I visited Hawaii.

Yes-I am still dreaming about it. I think next year i might have to stay there for a month or two for me to fully get it out from my system. Even though, I was able to stay at The Royal Hawaiian, eaten at so much at so many delicious and not so delicious restaurants, go on one hike, and I was able to explore the Honolulu, there are a few things I wish to do differently.

Five days, was certainly not enough time for me to stay there. I have said before, I love to experience new place multiple of time with different people. Once myself, another with a friend or significant other done, with a great group of friends, finally with family-each time to experience the city differently. Next visit (May 2017?) – hopefully I will have more friends to join me, and plan on doing things that I wanted to wait to do with a group of friends. I have also considered going on a cruise to Hawaii maybe some time in the future.

For future references here’s a list of things that I should consider on saving up for next time:

Staying in Kailua, HI for 3 days and go hiking. When I went on a hike to Lanikai Pillbox HikeI later found out that Kailua is the place to go if you love hikes. Kailua have so much to offer if you love nature!
Olomana Hike  Lanikai Pillbox Hike (yes again!) Maunawili Falls to name a few, I also would like to do Donna’s detours off the beaten path

Staying in Honolulu, HI in a Airbnb or a cheaper hotel so I can afford to do activities. In my recap blog post about my trip I had mentioned that there were many things that I wanted to do but could not afford, and I didn’t find out about the affordable activities until the last minute.

on my last day in Honolulu, a girlfriend of mine messaged me and told me that I should go to The Byodo-In Temple also known as Valley of the Temple. Entry Fee is less than $5. Sadly by the time she messaged me I had  eat and be at the airport within 4 hours.

Mu Ryang Sa Buddhist Temple also known as Broken Ridge Temple-Hawaii’s best kept secret and not as popular as Valley of the temple. There is no entry fee, however there are donation boxes around the temple $3 for adult for good luck . I am Buddhist- however I believe you do not have to be Buddhist to enjoy the architecture, history and peace to enjoy temples.  Mu-Ryang-Sa offers a meditation class every Saturday afternoon at 4:00 PM that is open to the public and free of charge.

Keana Farms Zipline $169 + $30 Transportation

“EXPLORE ONE OF THE MOST BEAUTIFUL PLACES ON EARTH. CLIMB Works Keana Farms is a 3-hour guided zipline tour that includes Oahu’s longest ziplines ranging from 500 feet to nearly half a mile long. Participants explore a working agricultural farm on 8 world class dual lines, 2 rappels, 3 sky bridges, a fun ATV adventure to the ridgetop, and other unique surprises. Along the way you’ll learn about Hawaii’s rich history and culture while taking in constant panoramic ocean and mountain views of Oahu’s famous North Shore” (taken from website).

Kualoa Where Legends are Made
Kualoa also offers packaged deals- please click here to view discounts.

Tree Top Canopy Zipline Tour ($149.95 + $15.95 transportation at the travel desk at the Royal Hawaiian Center)

the best horseback riding 1-2 hour tours  ($74.95-$119.95 before taxes)

Ancient Hawaiian Fishpond & Tropical Garden Tour ($35.95 before taxes)

Ocean Voyage Tour ($35.95 before taxes)

Turtle Canyon Adventure Sail ($60 before taxes)

Fun day on the North Shore ($94 before taxes) Shark dive, snorkeling, and to see the hawaiian green sea turtles

West Oahu Dolphin Tour  ($?) Before I consider taking on this tour I would like to learn how to swim first, in case something does happen.

Blue Hawaiian Helicopter Tour $240

“National Geographic named us Hawaii’s best. We earned that reputation – one guest at a time…For more than thirty years, Blue Hawaiian- the only helicopter tour company that serves all four major Hawaiian island- has been Hawaii’s air tour leader, setting a benchmark for quality that’s surpassed.” -taken from pamphlet

I could list so much more, but I don’t want to overwhelm myself for the next visit. Until again- I hope to talk about Hawaii, soon.

Leave a Reply

