Staying Organize

Simple tasks to make to-do lists shorter

When we go through hard days, or weeks, or even months (okay, maybe not months), it’s easy to let the little things slip through the cracks.  However, it’s an overwhelming feeling to have checked out for a couple of days, only to realize your to-do list is now a mile long and you’re behind on everything. Everything then becomes overwhelming, and you don’t know where to start. Whatever you do, don’t panic-breathe and start tackling down the easy stuff.

When I’m having a day where I just don’t want to do anything, I motivate myself by making a really simple to-do list – tasks that requires little to no work.  Tasks include things like making my bed, making appointments, doing the dishes, the easy stuff.  Not only does this keep the dishes from piling up and the laundry basket from overflowing, but seeing the check marks fill up the page mentally tricks me into feeling accomplished, which then motivates me to tackle more, harder tasks that day.  It’s a great way to break me out of that ‘I am not feeling it today’ feeling and boost my mood.

So here are some life tips to help you get throughout the day to make your clean up day less daunting:

  1. Make your bed. Every morning after I wake up, before I even start heading to the  bathroom- I make my bed. This usually takes less than 5 minutes to do, so why not start your day making your bed? Not only that this will make your room appear cleaner than it really is, but its nice to come home from a rough day with a clean bed.
  2. Put things away. This is something that I plea guilty of-a habit that I am trying to break. A great habit to develop to keep yourself more clean and organize is to put things away once you are done with it. When you are getting undress- put the clothes away verses leaving it on the floor. If you’re done with an item, put it back in its home. Simple tasks like that will help you keep your to-do list shorter every week.
  3. Keep counters clear. Don’t be lazy, just put it away! After getting ready or making food for yourself, make a habit of cleaning up once you are done. This will keep your bathroom counters free from clutter, and the dishes from piling up. It probably takes less time washing and putting away that plate, then it is to let it pile up in your sink-having to spend 20-30 minutes doing the dishes days later.
  4. Clean as you go. Lets be honest, I dread my clean up days-Sunday. Since I have been doing small tasks, such as putting things away once I am done with something, and keeping my counters clear, it makes my clean up time on Sundays to be shorter-which resorts to more time for me to do the things I actually want to do. This will not only keep your home clean, but it will save you a lot of time and stress to clean as you go. Try to clean as you are cooking in the kitchen, such as, while you’re waiting for something on the stove top, or over to be done, do the dishes (but still keep an eye out on your food!), put away that mixer, etc. Or, as you’re getting ready, when you’re done with that eye-shadow put it away before you start the next step, that way when you’re running late you don’t have to worry about cleaning up after yourself when you are done getting ready in the morning-best part about it, this will actually save you time for you to do whatever else you need to do.
  5. Group by function. For example, I like to keep my everyday makeup items in a bag, all my skincare items in a tray, and all my chargers and electronics in a draw. Organizing things by function you will not only end up saving yourself time, but you will also keep yourself clean and organize. This way you don’t have to spend time looking for anything, because you know where everything should be, and once you’re done with it, you can automatically put it away without thinking.
  6. The 5-minute Rule. I’ve been practicing the five-minute rule for almost 4 years and it has changed my life. The best way to explain this is very simple-if it takes less minute to do, do it and just get this done. For example, after you are done binge watching your favorite t.v. show, before you go to bed, put the remote back to its home, stack the pillows back to how its suppose to be, and fold or put away that throw blanket-all will most likely take you less than 5 minutes to do. It will make your clean up days much shorter.

What are your tips for keeping your home clean?

2 thoughts on “Simple tasks to make to-do lists shorter

Leave a Reply

